1099-NEC deadline · Feb 1, 2027 Tax year 2026 brings a $2,000 reporting threshold, new tips and overtime boxes, and the end of FIRE. What changed for 2026 Free FIRE converter Collect a W‑9
IRS Form

Health Coverage

File 1095-B Online

E-file 1095-B for minimum essential health coverage provided to a covered individual during the 2026 tax year. TaxFormHero offers bulk import from Excel, secure IRS transmission, and a filing deadline of March 31, 2027. E-filing starts from $2.99 a form with no signup fee or ongoing subscription requirements.

  • 4.5/5

  • 52,000+

    Filers served

  • Authorized IRS e-file Provider

    Authorized e-file provider

  • $0

    Signup fee or subscription

  • 4 yrs

    Filings stored and downloadable

E-File Deadline
March 31, 2027
Reporting Threshold
Minimum essential health coverage
Who Files
Health insurance providers

What is Form 1095-B?

Form 1095-B is the statement a coverage provider gives an individual, and files with the IRS, confirming that the individual had minimum essential health coverage and listing the months it was in force. Each covered person is named, and each month they were covered is ticked.

It answers one question: was this person covered, and when. That is a narrower job than Form 1095-C, which also has to report what an employer OFFERED and on what terms. Where 1095-C is about an employer obligation, 1095-B is about a factual record of coverage.

Individuals do not attach it to their return and do not need it to file. The federal individual mandate penalty has been zero since 2019, so for most people the form is a receipt rather than a requirement. It still matters in the states that run their own mandates, and it still has to be filed.

Who files Form 1095-B

Anyone who PROVIDES minimum essential coverage, which is a different group from the employers who report on 1095-C.

  • Health insurance issuers and carriers, for every individual market and fully insured group policy they wrote. This is the bulk of all 1095-B filing.
  • Employers who self-insure but are NOT applicable large employers, typically those under 50 full-time employees including equivalents. A small self-insured employer is the coverage provider, so it reports here rather than on 1095-C.
  • Government-sponsored programmes, including Medicaid, CHIP, Medicare Part A, TRICARE and veterans health coverage.
  • Sponsors of certain other arrangements that count as minimum essential coverage, such as multiemployer plans where the sponsor rather than an insurer is the provider.
  • An applicable large employer that is fully insured does NOT file 1095-B for its staff. Its insurer does that, and the employer files 1095-C.

What counts as minimum essential coverage

The distinction that causes most of the filing errors is between real coverage and excepted benefits.

  • Counts: employer-sponsored group health plans, individual market policies including Marketplace plans, Medicare Part A, Medicaid, CHIP, TRICARE, veterans programmes, Peace Corps coverage, and certain student health plans.
  • Does not count: stand-alone dental and vision, workers compensation, accident-only and disability-only policies, fixed indemnity plans, and coverage for a single disease or condition. These are excepted benefits and are not reported.
  • Short-term limited duration insurance is not minimum essential coverage, whatever the policy is called in marketing material.
  • A health reimbursement arrangement integrated with a group plan is generally not separately reported, because reporting it as well would double-count the same person for the same months.

What goes on the form

Four parts, and only the last one changes much between filings.

  • Part I identifies the responsible individual, usually the policyholder or primary subscriber, and carries the origin-of-coverage code that says what kind of coverage it was.
  • Part II is completed only where an employer sponsored the coverage, naming that employer and its EIN.
  • Part III identifies the issuer or other provider filing the form, with a contact telephone number.
  • Part IV lists every covered individual with their taxpayer identification number or date of birth, and ticks either the all-twelve-months box or the specific months of coverage. A person covered for part of a year needs the individual months, not the annual box.
  • Form 1094-B is the transmittal that accompanies a batch of 1095-B forms to the IRS. It is a single cover sheet, not one per recipient.

You may not have to send them out any more

The Paperwork Burden Reduction Act turned furnishing into a request-based obligation. A provider may post a clear, conspicuous and accessible notice that 1095-B statements are available and send one only to an individual who asks, instead of mailing every covered person.

The conditions are precise. The notice must be up by the furnishing deadline and remain up until 15 October. It has to be written in plain language, headed so that a reader recognises it as a health coverage tax document, and give an email address, a postal address and a telephone number for requests. A request must then be satisfied within 30 days, or by 31 January, whichever is later.

Nothing about the obligation to FILE with the IRS changed. Only the obligation to put a copy in the post did.

Reporting a taxpayer ID you could not get

A provider that cannot obtain a covered individual taxpayer identification number after a reasonable effort may report that person full name and date of birth instead. The reasonable effort is defined: ask at enrolment, ask again by 31 December, and ask a third time by 31 December of the following year. Documenting those attempts is what supports a reasonable cause defence if the return is later challenged.

States that want a copy too

California, the District of Columbia, Massachusetts, New Jersey and Rhode Island run their own individual coverage mandates with their own reporting and their own deadlines. A provider covering residents of those jurisdictions can have filed correctly with the IRS and still owe a state return.

What is published for 2026, and what is not

As at October 2026 the IRS has published instructions for Forms 1094-B and 1095-B for tax year 2025 only. There is no 2026 edition yet.

So nothing on this page quotes a 2026 figure. Everything here is stated from the current instructions and from the furnishing rules actually in force, which is the honest position until the IRS issues the 2026 revision. A page printing a confident 2026 number right now is guessing.

The substantive change in force is the alternative manner of furnishing described above. When the 2026 instructions appear, this page gets read again and re-dated.

1095-B or 1095-C? Who reports what

Your situationFormWho files it
Fully insured, fewer than 50 full-time employees1095-BThe insurance carrier
Self-insured, fewer than 50 full-time employees1095-BYou, as the coverage provider
Fully insured, 50 or more full-time employees1095-B and 1095-CCarrier files the B; you file the C, Parts I and II only
Self-insured, 50 or more full-time employees1095-C onlyYou, completing Part III as well
Medicaid, CHIP, Medicare, TRICARE, VA1095-BThe programme

The trap is the third row: a large employer with an insured plan still files 1095-C even though it files no 1095-B, because the two forms answer different questions.

Coverage that counts, and coverage that does not

Reportable minimum essential coverageExcepted benefits — not reported
Employer group health plansStand-alone dental and vision
Individual market and Marketplace plansWorkers compensation
Medicare Part AAccident-only and disability-only cover
Medicaid and CHIPFixed indemnity policies
TRICARE and veterans programmesSingle-disease or specified-illness cover
Certain student health plansShort-term limited duration insurance

Reporting an excepted benefit is not a harmless extra: it puts a coverage month on the record for a person who may not have had minimum essential coverage at all.

1095-B Pricing

$2.99 per 1095-B form No signup fee · No subscription · Volume pricing down to $0.60

Volume pricing — each band charged at its own rate

Graduated per-form pricing for 1095-B: each volume band is charged at its own rate
Volume band Charged at Price per form
First 50 forms 1–50 $2.99
Next 100 forms 51–150 $1.99
Next 350 forms 151–500 $0.99

What 750 1095-B forms actually costs

First 50 forms at $2.99 $149.50
Next 100 forms at $1.99 $199.00
Next 350 forms at $0.99 $346.50
Final 250 forms at $0.60 $150.00
Total — an average of $1.13 per form $845.00

Optional add-ons

Included at no extra cost

  • Direct IRS e-filing — no Form 1096 needed, it is a paper transmittal
  • Free recipient PDF copies to download and share
  • Bulk Excel/CSV import and built-in error validation
  • CFSF state filing for participating states
  • Secure storage of your filing data for 4 years

W-2, W-2C, 1095-B, 1095-C forms share this tier table. Volume tiers are counted per form type within a filing, so a large batch of 1095-B reaches the cheapest band on its own.

Estimate Your Filing Cost

Frequently Asked Questions: Filing 1095-B Online

Common questions about e-filing Form 1095-B with TaxFormHero. Still stuck? Contact our support team or browse the full FAQ page.

Health insurance issuers, self-insured employers below the applicable large employer threshold, and government-sponsored programmes file one for each individual to whom they provided minimum essential coverage during 2026.

By March 2, 2027. The ACA forms get an automatic 30-day extension on furnishing that the other information returns do not, which is why this date sits later than the January 31 norm.

Yes. You may satisfy the furnishing requirement by posting a clear, conspicuous notice that individuals can request their 1095-B, and then supplying it within 30 days of a request. The IRS filing obligation is unaffected.

1095-B reports coverage actually provided, and is filed mainly by insurers. 1095-C is filed by employers with 50 or more full-time employees and reports the offer of coverage, whether or not it was taken up.

Recipient copies are due March 2, 2027. The IRS copy is due March 1, 2027 on paper and March 31, 2027 if you e-file. Because TaxFormHero files electronically you get the later IRS date, and we timestamp every submission so you have proof of filing.

If you file 10 or more information returns of any kind in the year, the IRS requires all of them to be filed electronically. That count is aggregated across every form type you file — ten 1099s and one W-2 puts you over the line. TaxFormHero is an IRS-authorized e-filing platform, so filing here satisfies the mandate.

$2.99 per form at the entry tier, dropping to $0.60 per form at volume, with no signup fee and no subscription. You only pay when you transmit. State filing, print & mail, e-delivery, and TIN matching are optional add-ons priced separately.

Yes. Open the form in your dashboard, tick Corrected, fix the figures, and transmit again — we submit it to the IRS as a correction and generate a fresh recipient copy. There is no separate charge for filing a correction to a form you originally filed with us.

The IRS charges a per-form penalty that increases the longer you wait, and it rises again if the failure is judged intentional. Penalties apply separately to the IRS copy and the recipient copy, so a single late form can be charged twice. Filing electronically on time is the cheapest way to avoid all of it.

No. Dental, vision, workers compensation, accident-only, disability-only, fixed indemnity and single-disease policies are excepted benefits and are not minimum essential coverage. Reporting one puts a coverage month on the record for somebody who may not have had qualifying coverage at all.

You may report their full name and date of birth instead, provided you made a reasonable effort to obtain the number: ask at enrolment, ask again by December 31, and ask a third time by December 31 of the following year. Keep a record of those attempts, because that record is the reasonable cause defence if the return is questioned.

Form 1095-B. Below the 50 full-time employee threshold you are not an applicable large employer, and as a self-insured plan you are the coverage provider, so you report here rather than on 1095-C.

No. It is not minimum essential coverage however it is marketed, so no 1095-B is filed for it.

Yes. The Paperwork Burden Reduction Act changed only the furnishing of statements to individuals. The return to the IRS is unchanged, and the electronic filing threshold of 10 or more information returns in aggregate still applies.

California, the District of Columbia, Massachusetts, New Jersey and Rhode Island run their own individual coverage mandates with their own reporting and deadlines. Filing correctly with the IRS does not discharge those.

Deadline for Filing Form 1095-B (Tax Year 2026)

Recipient copy March 2, 2027
Paper to IRS March 1, 2027
E-file to IRS March 31, 2027

The furnishing deadline is a permanent 30-day extension of January 31, so in 2027 it falls one day after the paper filing date.

Filing 10 or more information returns in aggregate means e-filing is required, so the e-file date is the one that applies to most filers.

Reviewed by Nazrul Huda, MSA, IRS PTIN Holder · last reviewed

Sources: IRS, Instructions for Forms 1094-B and 1095-B (2025) · IRS, Notice 2025-15 (alternative manner of furnishing)